share

The Book of the Summer

by
Every Summer After Book Review
Every Summer After Book Review

If you pay attention to books what so ever than you have probably seen this book going around. BookTok and Bookstagram are all about Every Summer After. Everyone is reading it this summer! And let me just say it is 100% worth the hype that it has been getting! I honestly am shocked that it’s a debut novel. I, of course, couldn’t not read it since it was so popular and even saved it so I could read it while at the beach.

Every Summer After Book Review

Every Summer After

by Carly Fortune

Six summers to fall in love. One moment to fall apart. A weekend to get it right.
 
They say you can never go home again, and for Persephone Fraser, ever since she made the biggest mistake of her life a decade ago, that has felt too true. Instead of glittering summers on the lakeshore of her childhood, she spends them in a stylish apartment in the city, going out with friends, and keeping everyone a safe distance from her heart.

What It’s About

Percy’s parents buy a lake house where they plan to take her every summer. That’s how the book starts. Next door to their house lives Adam and Charlie. They live at the lake year round. Percy and Adam are the same age while Charlie is a little bit older. The book start when they are young and each chapter goes between when they are older (or current day) and a past summer as they goes up together. Sam and Percy become inseparable and best friends after that first summer together. But something happens that last summer that causes them to never speak again until Percy finds out Sam’s mom has passed away and returns to the lake for her funeral.

Why I Loved It

This book is a coming of age/second chance romance and it’s just so nostalgic. You’ll find yourself wanting to be at a lake while reading it. It just oozes summer in every chapter. The descriptions of the cabins and lake were so good. I really felt like I could picture it. Everything was so captivating and I found myself so in love with all of the characters. From Percy to Sam to even Delilah, I wanted everyone to be happy.

I will say that I guess what was going happen, and while that is annoying it didn’t really bother me because of how enthralled I was by the book. I just didn’t want to put it down. Some people may be bothered by the “twist” but I can see how this would all still work out in the end. The characters are flawed and they knew it. No one didn’t own up to their flaws and I loved it. It felt so human and real.

Who Will Love This Book

While I have not read (*yet*) Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren, I have been told there are a lot of similarities to it and Every Summer After. However, if you loved that book you will love this one! Fans of Emily Henry and Abby Jimenez I think will be a big fan of this book as well. I also can see people who liked the love story in Seven Days In June (that book is much much deeper, but similar second chance romance vibes).

Also anyone who had a “first love” at 15 will feel so much nostalgia while reading. I thought Carly Fortune did such a good job describing the feelings of crushing on someone at a young age and falling for your best friend over time.

Categories:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mariah Cooke
Close Cookmode